Argentum
company
games
order
retailers
contact
deutsch
English

First Train to Nuremberg

A game by Martin Wallace for two to four players aged 12 and up
Duration: 45-90 min
Grafik: Dennis Lohausen

During the second third of the 19th century, a rapid development of railway transport got under way. All over the world, the railway networks were growing and steam engines accelerated the progress. 175 years ago, on December 7 1835 to be precise, the first German train powered by a steam engine started operating between Nuremberg and Fürth, transporting passengers and goods. In England’s region of Wensleydale transport of goods via railway tracks was started 13 years later.

First Train to Nuremberg is a revised edition of Last Train to Wensleydale. You take the role of a railway promoter, backed by the investments of hundreds of local landowners. Your aim is to build lines that can make a profit from the transport of passengers and goods. However, money is not the only resource you require. Many locals will oppose your schemes and only with influence in the government will you be able to build over their land.

Your company is far too small to be able to have its own engine works, so contacts with the major operators will help you acquire second-hand trains and rolling stock. You will also need to be on good terms with the two local railway companies. Without their support you will not be able to link to their networks, nor will you be able to negotiate the sale of your lines when they become unprofitable (as they surely will). With First Train to Nuremberg now two players can fully enjoy this extraordinary train game as well. Instead of cheese and stone, now beer and post will be transported, besides passengers of course. fiere is a new challenge when transporting passengers: They can travel first class now and thus you will gain more victory points but on the other hand, you have to buy trains that are more expensive. Additionally, you may benefit from the first connection between Nuremberg and Fürth and receive extra victory points, which may be crucial for winning the game.

What’s more, you may play the original game of Last Train to Wensleydale on the flip side of the game board, or almost so. Some slight changes of the original rules work with that map as well as the rules of the first edition. Notwithstanding the number of players and which map you choose to play with, this game is constantly offering new and manifold challenges.

COMPONENTS
5 white influence tokens
5 brown influence tokens
5 red influence tokens
5 green influence tokens
3 player train pieces per player
15 player investmentcubes per player
9 player tokens per player
15 player track links per player
35 red track links
35 green track links
25 landlord pieces (white)
25 red passenger pieces
25 green passenger pieces
60 white Stone/Beer cubes
60 yellow Cheese/Post cubes
1 turn marker
1 double-sided game board
2 double-sided extra boards
1 cloth bag

Art.-Nr.: 0011
erhältlich im Spielwarenhandel
© Argentum Verlag Köln, 2010

Argentum
Verlag
Spiele
Bestellung
Händler
Kontakt
deutsch
English

First Train to Nürnberg

ein Spiel von Martin Wallace für zwei bis vier Spieler ab 12 Jahren
Dauer: 45-90 min
Grafik: Dennis Lohausen

Im zweiten Drittel des 19. Jahrhunderts begann eine rasante Entwicklung des Schienen gebundenen Transports. Weltweit wuchs das Schienennetz und Dampflokomotiven beschleunigten die Entwicklung. Vor 175 Jahren, am 7. Dezember 1835, wurde die erste deutsche Eisenbahnstrecke mit Dampfkraft für den Personen- und Güterverkehr zwischen Nürnberg und Fürth eröffnet. 13 Jahres später begann auch in England im Gebiet Wensleydale der Warentransport auf Schienen.

First Train to Nürnberg ist eine Neuauflage von Last Train to Wensleydale. Die Spieler übernehmen die Rolle eines Eisenbahnmäzens mit den Investitionen hunderter lokaler Landbesitzer im Rücken. Ihr Ziel ist es, Strecken zu bauen und durch den Transport von Passagieren und Waren Profit zu erwirtschaften. Aber Geld öffnet nicht alle Türen. Einige Landbesitzer haben Einwände gegen die Pläne und nur mittels Einfluss auf die Regierung wird es möglich, auf deren Land zu bauen. Die Firma ist viel zu klein, um eigene Fabriken zu unterhalten, also müssen Kontakte zu den großen Betreibern helfen, gebrauchte Lokomotiven und Waggons zu erwerben. Außerdem sind gute Kontakte zu den beiden großen Gesellschaften rund um die zentralen Orte von großer Bedeutung. Ohne Einfluss auf diese Gebiete kann weder ein Streckennetz aufgebaut noch der Verkauf unprofitabler Strecken ermöglicht werden.

Mit First Train to Nürnberg können nun auch zwei Spieler in den vollen Genuss dieses besonderen Eisenbahnspiels kommen. Auf dem neuen Spielplan werden statt Käse und Stein nun Bier und Post sowie weiterhin auch Passagiere transportiert. Für den Transport der Passagiere gibt es nun aber eine neue Herausforderung: Für mehr Geld reisen sie in Erste-Klasse-Waggons und bringen damit mehr Siegpunkte ein. Außerdem kann die erstmalige Verbindung von Nürnberg und Fürth den Spielern eventuell entscheidende Siegpunkte einbringen.

Weiterhin ist auf der Rückseite des Spielplans das originale Last Train to Wensleydale spielbar. Je nach Spielerzahl und Spielplanseite kann man sich somit vielfältigen und abwechslungsreichen Herausforderungen stellen.

SPIELMATERIAL
5 weiße Einflussmarker
5 braune Einflussmarker
5 rote Einflussmarker
5 grüne Einflussmarker
3 Lokomotiven pro Spieler
15 Investitionssteine pro Spieler
9 Spielermarker pro Spieler
15 Streckenteile pro Spieler
35 rote Streckenteile
35 grüne Streckenteile
25 Landbesitzer (weiß)
25 rote Passagiere
25 grüne Passagiere
60 weiße Stein-/Bierwürfel
60 gelbe Käse-/Postwürfel
1 Rundenmarker
1 beidseitig bedruckter Spielplan
2 beidseitig bedruckte Tableaus
1 Stoffbeutel

Art.-Nr.: 0011
erhältlich im Spielwarenhandel
© Argentum Verlag Köln, 2010